Beer!

For some people, this is not even worth turning on the laptop in the middle of the night and starting to remember from scratch, but for me, this is something that must be shared with those who sympathize with me, if there is anyone like that.

I was waiting for the train on the platform on my way back home tonight. I was searching my bag to pull out a book I was going to read on the train. I thought I was ready to get on the train when it came.

I decided not to.

A gentleman in a decent suit appeared out of nowhere and he seemed like another passenger. This businessman, to my dismay, had a can of beer in one hand and it was open.

OK, I haven’t described what it was like yet. It was around 7:30 p.m. If you look around, you can see all the business people who are in a hurry getting home. I was at Akihabara station, which is used by no less than 200,000 people – a day! It is very easy to imagine all the seats of the next train being taken and many passengers hanging on a strap, isn’t it?

And so it was!

And now this man showed up with beer.

You know, there is nothing like a smooth train ride. I have been to many foreign countries and taken trains, but I have never experienced a perfectly smooth ride. Sometimes it is bumpy. At other times, the train stops abruptly. That is why straps are ready for those passengers who have no seats.

This man was just standing in a crowd, with a can of beer in one hand and a newspaper in the other.

I tried to get on, but then, got off and waited for the next train.

Now, how should we punish such a man with a possible threat? I know I am exaggerating, but I really hate those who drink beer on the train. I hope there is any one person who can sympathize with me…

Leave a Reply

