You look serious, but are you really?

I was at a nearby beach yesterday.

Together with my friend’s family, all my family enjoyed 1) swimming in the pool, 2) running on the beach, and 3) having a BBQ.

We were thinking about going to this particular swimming pool. We knew that there was this city-operated park and that it included a swimming pool and were talking about going there…but when? That was always the conversation killer. Since I am too busy throughout summer (I have to spend time either teaching or writing), so I always hesitated to add another plan to my schedule.

But I made a decision right then and there, when I learned at the high school reunion that this old friend of mine from high school was living just adjacent to this park. He planned a BBQ and we joined them while swimming in the pool. Everything including the exact date and time was all set in a matter of hours.

There are many things you have had in mind for so long in your lifetime. You know you want to do something, but you can’t, because you just keep missing the timing. It is very nice therefore to have someone who encourages and even forces you to put your idea into effect. Thinking alone does not tell anyone that you are serious. Thinking alone did not tell my kids that I was seriously thinking about going to the pool. Only when you actually and physically do it will others realize in retrospect that you have been serious. I am glad my children now realize that I was seriously thinking about them.

Leave a Reply

